Dear DUI Heroes,
I was recently arrested for DUI in Washington State. I have never been in any kind of trouble before, and I have no criminal history. How severely am I going to pay for this single mistake?
Dreading my DUI in Kirkland, WA
We understand your anxiety. Unfortunately, the penalties for DUI in Washington State are some of the harshest in the country. A DUI conviction in Lynnwood, Bellevue, Lynnwood, and the rest of Washington carries a mandatory minimum sentence. This means if you are convicted of DUI, the Judge has the discretion to increase these penalties if they deem appropriate, but they are unable to reduce them from these minimums:
If your BAC (breath or blood) was below 0.15:
- 1 day in Jail (24 consecutive hours — if during your arrest you were booked and released within 24 hours, you will not receive credit).
- $350 Base Fine
- Other costs, assessments, and fees
- 90 Day License Suspension
- 1 year of Interlock Ignition Device after the suspension is completed.
- Up to 5 years probation.
If your BAC was above 0.15, or you refused a breath test, your mandatory minimums are even more severe.
Dreading, it was a simple mistake, but it has serious repercussions. A DUI conviction in Washington State can never be vacated (ie. removed from your record). Because of that, it is extremely important to review your case with an experienced. In fact, it’s the first and most important step you can take to protect your future and the things that matter to you most. Skilled DUI attorneys can often help you get your charge reduced or even dismissed to avoid these penalties and help put this behind you.
Take care and drive safely,
PS - If you’re not sure how to find the right fit, check out last month’s blog: How Do I Find The Right DUI Lawyer?