University of Washington DUI Defense Attorneys
Effectively Guiding Students Through Their Cases
If you're a University of Washington student who's been charged with driving under the influence, your educational and professional future is on the line. First, the school may impose sanctions upon you for violating its drug and/or alcohol policies. Possible punishments include, but are not limited to, disciplinary probation, loss of school privileges, and dismissal. Second, upon conviction, a court may sentence you to jail/prison or place you on probation, on top of ordering you to pay hefty fines. Additionally, your criminal record will show up on background checks, which means if you apply for graduate school or a job, the decision-maker may be influenced by what they find in your history.
The most effective way to avoid the adverse outcomes of a DUI conviction is to fight aggressively from the start. To do that, get in contact with DUI Heroes. Our defense lawyers understand what's at stake for University of Washington students. When you retain our services, we'll begin building your defense right away. Because our firm focuses exclusively on DUI matters, we have a solid understanding of Washington's law and the processes you must go through to resolve your case.
Our team will seek an optimal result on your behalf. Schedule a free consultation by calling us at (425) 296-9358 or contacting us online.
University of Washington Students and DUI Charges
As a university student, you might participate in several activities or events where drugs and/or alcohol are present. But know that if you consume either or both substances and get behind the wheel, you could face criminal charges.
Washington State's DUI law provides that it's illegal for a person to operate a vehicle when their driving abilities are impaired by alcohol, or they have an alcohol concentration of .08 or higher.
Under the DUI law, if anyone cannot safely drive a car because their normal faculties are compromised because of marijuana, or they have a THC concentration of 5.00 or more, they're committing a crime.
DUI and Drugs
The DUI law concerns not only alcohol and marijuana but also illegal and legal drugs (such as prescription or over-the-counter medications). Driving while under the influence of drugs is also an offense.
Each of the three DUI crimes listed above are gross misdemeanors.
This means that if you are convicted, the court may impose the following penalties:
- Up to 364 days in jail
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Up to 4 years of driver's license suspension
University Students Charged with Underage DUIs
Many University of Washington students won't turn 21 until their third year. If this is your situation, you could be charged with an alcohol- or marijuana-related DUI even when your alcohol concentration or THC levels are lower than those listed above. According to Washington law, people under 21 face criminal penalties when their alcohol concentration is at .02 or less, or their THC concentration is above 0.00.
A conviction for this misdemeanor offense may result in:
- A jail term of up to 90 days
- A fine of up to $1,000
- A driver's license suspension of up to 4 years
Minor in Possession/Consumption Charges for University Students
If you're under 21, it's not just a drinking and driving charge you could be accused of. For you, merely having or being near alcoholic beverages is a crime. The conviction penalties you face for a minor in possession and/or minor in consumption offense depend on your age.
If you're 17 or younger, the Washington State Department of Licensing may revoke your driving privileges for up to 2 years.
If you're between 18 and 20, the court may sentence you to:
- A jail term of up to 1 year
- A fine of up to $5,000
Get Our Heroes on Your Side
Fighting a DUI charge requires skill and thorough preparation. Backed by extensive legal experience, our team at DUI Heroes have the resources needed to challenge the accusation made against you.
If you're a University of Washington student who needs effective defense for your case, call us at (425) 296-9358 or contact us online today. We offer a free initial consultation.