Washington State University DUI Defense Attorneys
Fighting for Students Facing Drunk Driving Charges
Being accused of an alcohol- and/or drug-related offense can be frightening, especially if you're a Washington State University (WaSU) student with a lot on the line. The school has several policies that prohibit alcohol consumption in certain areas, such as some residence halls rooms and alcohol-free Greek residences. Additionally, no drug, including marijuana (whether used medicinally or recreationally), is allowed on the campus. If you violate these policies, the school could place you on probation, suspend you from student housing, or expel you from school. And those are merely the penalties for violating school rules.
Washington State has laws barring people from consuming alcohol and/or drugs and driving, as well as possessing alcohol when the person is under legal age. The court can impose severe penalties on you if you're convicted of alcohol and/or drug DUI or a minor in possession/consumption (MIP/MIC) offense. A conviction can wreak havoc on your life for years, affecting your educational and/or career prospects.
If you've been charged with a DUI or MIP/MIC, you need legal help on your side immediately. At DUI Heroes, we're prepared to deliver effective defense and sound guidance throughout your case. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of the judicial process, and we'll work relentlessly toward obtaining the best possible result on your behalf.
We're here to help WaSU students with their DUI matters. To schedule a free consultation, call us at (425) 296-9358 or contact us online today.
How a Criminal History Can Affect Your Future
DUI and MIP/MIC offenses are crimes. As such, if a judge or jury finds you guilty, the conviction will show up on your criminal record. Anyone can access it, including prospective schools and employers. Thus, if you're planning on attending graduate school after completing your undergraduate education at Washington State University, the decision-makers at your school of choice might decline you based on what shows up in your background check.
The same may be true for future employers, especially in fields that require a professional license to practice in. Additionally, if you're convicted of an offense that resulted in incarceration or involved drugs, the Department of Education may suspend or revoke your eligibility for federal student aid. It may, therefore, become difficult to pay for and finish school.
With so much at stake in a DUI or MIP/MIC matter, it's imperative to retain the services of an attorney who will provide serious and aggressive defense. At DUI Heroes, our lawyers leverage their knowledge, skills, and resources to help Washington State University students effectively navigate their cases.
We provide legal representation for various offenses, including:
- DUIs: If you were caught driving while impaired by alcohol or with an alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, you may be charged with this offense. A conviction can result in jail time, fines, and/or loss of driving privileges.
- Marijuana DUIs: For people 21 and older, recreational marijuana use is legal. However, driving under the influence of the substance or with a THC concentration of 5.00 or greater is a crime. The offense is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and/or driver's license suspension for up to 4 years.
- DUI & Drugs: Whether a legal medication or an illegal controlled substance, driving under the influence of either is unlawful. As with an alcohol or marijuana DUI, a conviction may lead to incarceration, fines, and/or driver's license suspension.
- Minor DUI: If you're under 21 and operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or marijuana, you'll be charged with a crime. However, the legal limits are much lower than those of a regular DUI: Your alcohol concentration level cannot be at or higher than .02, and your THC concentration cannot be over 0.00.
- Minor in Possession/Consumption: In Washington, the legal drinking age is 21. If you're younger than that, and you have or are near alcohol, you're breaking the law. Depending on your age, the Washington State Department of Licensing can suspend your driver's license for up to 2 years, or the court can impose a jail term and fines.
Let Our Heroes Defend You
At DUI Heroes, we understand that you may have many questions about how a DUI or MIP/MIC charge can affect you as a Washington State University student. That is why our defense lawyers are available 24/7 to respond to your call. We'll discuss your charges, the potential outcomes, and your legal options.
To get started, call us at (425) 296-9358 or contact us online.