Nationally Published Innovator in DUI Defense
Collaborative Team Approach to DUI
Prioritizing Client Care Over "Case Management"
Reckless Driving Lawyer in Lynnwood, WA
DUI Reckless Driving Washington State Laws
Have you been charged with reckless driving? DUI Reckless driving in this state is a gross misdemeanor that is punishable by up to:
- A year in jail
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Driver's license suspension
In addition to incarceration, fines, and license suspension, you will also be facing increased insurance rates under SR-22 laws. SR-22 is high-risk insurance and usually fairly expensive compared to standard rates.
Speak with a Lynnwood DUI reckless driving lawyer at DUIHeroes. If you have been charged with reckless driving, we will look for ways to reduce your charges to a traffic violation, a much less serious offense. We have many years of experience in criminal defense, especially cases involving gross misdemeanors and motor vehicle offenses.
DUI Reckless Driving Charges in Washington State
A person can be charged with reckless driving if law enforcement considers that they were driving with willful disregard for the safety of other people or property. This can include weaving in and out of lanes or even speeding. Under state laws, a person can even be charged with reckless driving for embracing another person in the car in a way that hampers their ability to operate their vehicle. It is a serious criminal offense that can result in the loss of your driving privileges for a minimum of 30 days.
If your driver's license is suspended, you will be unable to obtain a hardship permit or temporary restricted license during the suspension period, and your SR-22 auto insurance will be required for three years. If you are an immigrant that has been arrested for reckless driving, it could result in your deportation. Our Lynnwood DUI reckless driving attorney can provide the adept legal representation you will need when fighting these charges and can be relied on to seek the best results possible.
Is Reckless Driving a Misdemeanor?
Reckless driving is considered a “gross misdemeanor” in Washington State. This type of misdemeanor is more serious than a simple misdemeanor and should be treated as such. Gross misdemeanors allow for judges to hand down significantly more serious penalties, including up to 364 days in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. In contrast, simple misdemeanors have a maximum penalty of up to 90 days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. If you are facing a gross misdemeanor charge due to reckless driving, it’s important that you contact a reckless driving attorney as soon as possible to discuss your case.
Contact a Lynnwood DUI reckless driving lawyer at 1 (800) DUI-HERO for capable legal counsel and representation if you have been arrested for reckless driving.
"The vision of DUIHeroes is to change the way the public views individuals charged with a criminal offense. And, to change the way they view the criminal defense attorneys who ethically and professionally stand up for and defend the rights of those individuals every day, because those rights are guaranteed to every single one of us. No matter what."
- Founding Attorney, Jonathan Dichter
“Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart!