Nationally Published Innovator in DUI Defense
Collaborative Team Approach to DUI
Prioritizing Client Care Over "Case Management"
MINOR IN POSSESSION Lynnwood, WA
Fight Your Minor in Possession Washington State Charges
In Washington, if someone under 21 years old drinks alcohol or has an alcoholic beverage on or near them, they can be charged with a gross misdemeanor. But, what does a Washington state minor in possession look like? Depending on the minor's age, if they're convicted of minor in possession and/or consumption (MIP or MIC), they can face jail time, fines, and/or a driver's license suspension. If you or your child has been charged, discuss your case with an Lynnwood minor in possession lawyer as soon as possible.
At DUIHeroes, our team focuses on alcohol-related offenses, and we know how to defend against MIP/MIC charges. Our attorneys are compassionate and dedicated to every case we handled. We will deliver the legal representation you need every step of the way.
We'll seek the best possible result on your behalf. Schedule a free, confidential consultation by calling our Lynnwood minor in possession attorneys at 1 (800) DUI-HERO or contacting us online.
Washington's Minor in Possession/Consumption Law
RCW 66.44.270 is the law concerning MIP/MIC.
According to the statute, the following is illegal:
- A person selling or supplying alcohol to a minor under 21 or allowing a minor to drink an alcoholic beverage in a home, building, vehicle, boat, or other structures. However, if the person is the minor's parent or guardian, they're not breaking the law.
- A minor under 21 years of age possessing, consuming, or getting alcohol in some way. If the minor's parent or guardian is the one who gave them or let them drink the alcohol, the MIP/MIC law does not apply.
- A minor under 21 years of age, while somewhere public or in a vehicle, behaving in a way that suggests they drank alcohol. A minor shows signs of alcohol consumption when their breath smells like liquor and:
- They have or are near a container with alcohol in it or that used to have alcohol in it; or
- They're acting like they're under the influence of alcohol, such as by slurring their words or lacking coordination
If the minor is with their parent or guardian, they're not violating the law. The MIP/MIC law doesn't apply when the minor had or consumed alcohol for medical reasons, during religious services, or with a special permit.
Minor in Possession Consequences Washington State
As mentioned earlier, MIP/MIC is a gross misdemeanor. If someone between 18 and 20 years of age is convicted, the court may sentence them to up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Minors between 13 and 17 years of age face different penalties. For a first conviction, the Washington State Department of Licensing will revoke their driver's license until they turn 17 or for at least 1 year, whichever is later. A second conviction will result in a driver's license revocation until the minor turns 18 or for at least 2 years, whichever is later. During the revocation period, the minor cannot drive, apply for a driver's license or permit, or obtain a restricted license.
Get Seasoned Legal Representation for MIP Cases
If you or your child was charged with MIP and/or MIC in Washington State, reach out to DUIHeroes. Our Lynnwood minor in possession attorneys, with over 30 years of combined experience, works together to give you and your case the attention you need and deserve. Make sure to take a look at our case results as well as our client testimonials and see what everyone is saying.
We will be your zealous advocates in and out of court. Speak with our Lynnwood minor in possession lawyers by calling 1 (800) DUI-HERO or submitting an online contact form, and we'll respond promptly.
"The vision of DUIHeroes is to change the way the public views individuals charged with a criminal offense. And, to change the way they view the criminal defense attorneys who ethically and professionally stand up for and defend the rights of those individuals every day, because those rights are guaranteed to every single one of us. No matter what."
- Founding Attorney, Jonathan Dichter
“The day before my pre trial she called me with the great news that they were going to Dismiss my case.” - Anonymous
“Best outcome achieved.” - Anonymous
“I call her my hero!” - Aliciah