• Nationally Published Innovator in DUI Defense
  • Collaborative Team Approach to DUI
  • Prioritizing Client Care Over "Case Management"
DUI Sentencing Free Case Evaluation

DUI Sentencing in Lynnwood, WA

What Happens if I am Convicted of DUI?

If you either plead guilty or are convicted of DUI in the State of Washington, you will face certain minimum penalties that include jail time, fines, a suspended or revoked license, and a criminal record. The DUI penalties get increasingly more severe if you have one or more prior convictions within the last seven years. Even if your BAC is less than 0.15% or there is no test, you will face between 1 and 90 days in jail depending on the number of prior convictions.

For more details about the possible penalties you face you should speak with a Lynnwood DUI lawyer at the DUIHeroes when you call 1 (800) DUI-HERO

Penalties for DUI Conviction in Washington

For a first time offender, the penalties for a DUI conviction if under 0.15% BAC include:

  • At least 1 (mandatory) and up to 365 days in jail
  • A minimum fine of $990.50 plus additional fees and costs
  • A 90 day license suspension
  • A mandatory ignition interlock device
  • And possible drug / alcohol education or treatment.

If convicted of over 0.15% or a refusal to take the BAC test, the penalties increase to 2 days minimum jail time and a 1 or 2-year revocation of your driver’s license. For anyone with prior convictions, the penalties increase dramatically on both jail time and length of license revocation.

DUI Sentencing Process in Washington State

During your sentencing your DUI lawyer can argue to have some of your penalties reduced or modified. If you are medically or physically incapable of serving jail time, you may be able to serve time under electronic house arrest at your own expense. The amount of your fine may be able to be kept close to or at the minimum amount prescribed by law. If you have any prior DUI convictions, such leniency becomes much more difficult to obtain as the Washington courts are very tough on repeat offenders. If you have even one prior DUI, your driver’s license will be automatically revoked, not suspended and your minimum jail time jumps from 1 to either 30 or 45 days. You should have effective legal representation by your side during your sentencing to avoid the harsher penalties that the court could choose.

Contact an experienced Lynnwood DUI attorney for assistance and advice during your sentencing for a DUI conviction.


"The vision of DUIHeroes is to change the way the public views individuals charged with a criminal offense. And, to change the way they view the criminal defense attorneys who ethically and professionally stand up for and defend the rights of those individuals every day, because those rights are guaranteed to every single one of us. No matter what."

- Founding Attorney, Jonathan Dichter

  • PLAY
  • “That's when I saw the miracle happen!” - S.C.
  • “They supported and fought for me through all of my legal challenges!” - L.W.
  • “I recognize and respect the team's level of expertise and professionalism...” - Anonymous

Contact DUIHeroes

Request Your Free Case Evaluation

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy