Nationally Published Innovator in DUI Defense
Collaborative Team Approach to DUI
Prioritizing Client Care Over "Case Management"
Suspended License Attorney Lynnwood, WA
Driving on a Suspended License Charges in Washington State
When an individual participates in an activity that violates certain state laws, or fails to meet court-mandated requirements, their driver's license can get suspended. Having your license suspended is a major headache; it prevents you from legally operating a vehicle and greatly limits your ability to conduct everyday life activities.
If you have recently received a DUI, your license will be suspended, but it doesn't necessarily take effect right away. The suspension time depends on your blood alcohol level, as well as if you have any prior DUIs. These details influence how long your license gets suspended for; it can range anywhere from 90 days to four years.
Regardless of why your license was suspended, it's crucial to contact a Lynnwood suspended license attorney at DUIHeroes in order to discuss your situation and obtain crucial legal advice. We have represented hundreds of individuals and will fight day and night on your behalf.
Driving on Suspended License in WA State
Getting stopped for a traffic ticket and then being arrested because your driver’s license is suspended is embarrassing, and potentially devastating. Your driver’s license could be at stake. Your liberty is at stake. You need to have representation that not only knows the legal system, but how to work through the DOL maze.
What You Need to Know
Driving while your driver’s license is suspended has three degrees. First and Second degree are gross misdemeanors under Washington Law. They carry a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a $5,000 fine, plus they can include additional mandatory driver’s license suspensions. Third degree is a misdemeanor under Washington Law, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. The best way to avoid these is to not be convicted. If I can negotiate a settlement or get your case dismissed – you can avoid some or all of these.
What Can Cause License Suspension in Washington State?
A wide range of activities can result in your driver’s license getting suspended, including:
If you're arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the state will take away your driver’s license for a period ranging from 90 days to four years.
If you cancel your insurance, the auto insurance company is required by law to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which will result in your driver’s license being suspended until you reinstate your insurance.
Failing to Pay Child Support
Should you cease to make your monthly child support payments, the Washington State Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) will notify the DMV, causing your driver’s license to be suspended. You will receive a letter explaining the steps you need to take in order to get your license back.
Not Paying a Parking Ticket
If you fail to pay a parking ticket, it can result in your driver’s license being suspended until you pay the ticket and resulting fines.
Contact a Lynnwood suspended license attorney at 1 (800) DUI-HERO to discuss your driver’s license being suspended and learn about the legal options available to you.
"The vision of DUIHeroes is to change the way the public views individuals charged with a criminal offense. And, to change the way they view the criminal defense attorneys who ethically and professionally stand up for and defend the rights of those individuals every day, because those rights are guaranteed to every single one of us. No matter what."
- Founding Attorney, Jonathan Dichter
“The day before my pre trial she called me with the great news that they were going to Dismiss my case.” - Anonymous
“Best outcome achieved.” - Anonymous
“I call her my hero!” - Aliciah