Lynnwood Teen Charged with DUI & Hit-and-Run

Dichter Law Office Logo

Last week a hit-and-run accident took place at the intersection of Highway 99 and 148th Street Southwest, just north of Seattle. Around 8 p.m. on Tuesday, November 18, a 16-year-old girl from Seattle rear-ended a Toyota Prius stopped at the traffic light, which was driven by a 40-year-old Edmonds man. The teenager, who was allegedly driving under the influence, attempted to flee the scene but was pursued and stopped by the driver of the Prius she struck.

In addition to the driver, the Prius was carrying a 13-year-old girl and a 2-year-old boy, but none of them were injured. The Seattle teen was not injured in the collision, but her 21-year-old passenger sustained injuries and was taken to Swedish Edmonds for treatment.

The teen was booked into Denny Youth Center for DUI and hit-and-run, according to a State Patrol spokesman.

Underage DUI Laws in Washington

In Washington, a minor can be charged with DUI if they operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or greater. The consequences for conviction of underage drunk driving are very serious and can include:

  • Automatic driver's license suspension for at least 90 days
  • Heavy fines
  • Jail time
  • Probation
  • Substance abuse evaluation and treatment
  • Community service
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device

Conviction for DUI will also go on the minor's criminal record, which could impact their ability to get accepted to college, obtain employment, or secure housing.

Understanding Hit-and-Run Charges

The Seattle teen also faces charges for hit-and-run. Under state law, if you are involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in injuries or fatalities, you are legally required to stay at the scene and give any help that is needed. Additionally, you must show your license to the other driver and exchange such information as name, address, vehicle license number, and insurance.

Failure to comply with these requirements will result in hit-and-run charges. If no injuries result, you will be charged with a gross misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and mandatory driver's license suspension for 1 year. If the accident resulted in injuries, hit-and-run is charged as a class C felony, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

What to Do After a DUI Arrest in Snohomish or King Counties

DUI and hit-and-run are very serious crimes in Washington that require the defense of an experienced and effective attorney. If you or a loved one was charged with DUI in Snohomish or King County, make sure you retain high-quality representation by calling DUI Heroes.

As a Seattle DUI defense lawyer with over a decade of experience, I can aggressively challenge the details of your arrest and the prosecutor's evidence against you. If your rights were violated in any way or if law enforcement made any errors, I will fight to have the evidence thrown out in court and seek to have your charges dropped or reduced.

I have earned a perfect 10.0 Superb rating from Avvo and have been selected for the prestigious Washington Super Lawyers® list of Rising Starsâ„ . When you choose to work with DUI Heroes, you can be confident that you will receive nothing less than the smart, strategic, and effective DUI defense you need.

Get in touch with my law firm today to schedule a free evaluation of your DUI case!

Related Posts
  • Responsible Driving During Cinco de Mayo Read More
  • Dangers of Drinking & Driving During Spring Outdoor Events Read More
  • How Do I Find the Right DUI Lawyer? Read More